How do I use ImageMagick to warp image on a baseball cap

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
direction
Authentication code: 1152

How do I use ImageMagick to warp image on a baseball cap

Post by direction »

How to warp a image on a cap? Below is the result I want. Have no idea, I am new to ImageMagicK.
Any thought is appreciate.

Input images:

output images:
fmw42

Re: How do I use ImageMagick to warp image on a baseball cap

Post by fmw42 »

Imagemagick does not have that kind of warping capability. It is a 2D tool and you need a 3D texture mapping system.

I suggest you try Photoshop 'puppet' warp.
direction

Post by direction »

fmw42 wrote: 2019-07-20T22:39:09-07:00 Imagemagick does not have that kind of warping capability. It is a 2D tool and you need a 3D texture mapping system.

I suggest you try Photoshop 'puppet' warp.
fmw42, thanks!
However, trying to process it on the backend server. So I cannot use Photoshop.

Just found this link: https://imagemagick.org/Usage/distorts/#polynomial
Not sure it works or not?
snibgo
Authentication code: 1151

Post by snibgo »

Please don't multi-post. I have removed your other post.

You want to distort an image and paint that on your object. If you can do this once with any software on any computer, you can repeat the task using just ImageMagick.

The trick is to do it once using a special image called an "identity displacement map". This creates a distorted map. Then your server uses IM to distort any user-supplied image with this distorted map.

I show how to do this when the object is a 3D model: Painting people. This also accounts for 3D lighting of the object, which may be overkill for your requirement.
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com
direction

Post by direction »