What's the best way to do resize for radar image

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
Post Reply
qch2041
Posts: 1
Joined: 2014-03-03T11:09:47-07:00
Authentication code: 6789

What's the best way to do resize for radar image

Post by qch2041 » 2014-03-03T11:35:33-07:00

I have a png image of radar data, size 1850x2048, I need to convert it to gif format of size 480x480 ( I have source code to read the data from gif image, then convert to another data format. ). I know there are many ways to do (resize, adaptive-resize, scale, sample, resample, ..., etc.) I am wondering what is the best way to the conversion in order to keep the accuracy of radar data as much as possible?

User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 25577
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: What's the best way to do resize for radar image

Post by fmw42 » 2014-03-03T11:47:02-07:00

There is no one best answer. I would use either -resize or -distort resize with whatever filter works best for you.

see
http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/filter/
http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/filter/nicolas/

henrywho
Posts: 188
Joined: 2011-08-17T06:46:40-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308

Re: What's the best way to do resize for radar image

Post by henrywho » 2014-04-14T23:05:55-07:00

Any sample?

(BTW, should this post be in relocated to the Users forum?)

User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 25577
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: What's the best way to do resize for radar image

Post by fmw42 » 2014-04-14T23:12:00-07:00

(BTW, should this post be in relocated to the Users forum?)
Done.

Post Reply