How to run program

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
Post Reply
kevinpeter
Posts: 2
Joined: 2019-10-19T13:49:46+00:00
Authentication code: 1152

How to run program

Post by kevinpeter »

Sorry for the newbie question. I installed ImageMagick 7.0.8 Q16 (64) but can't figure out how to run it (Win 10). On my desktop, there is only ImageMagick Display - but no ImageMagick start icon. Looking in my Settings->Apps & features, I see that it successfully installed. I just don't know how to run it.

I entered ImageMagick into Windows search but it only returned ImageMagick Display as a program choice to run.

When I look at my list of installed programs, I see ImageMagick but when I select it, a folder opens and it lets me choose ImageMagick Display or ImageMagick Web Pages. No ImageMagick program.

I am probably missing something really obvious but I can't figure out what it is. How do I run the program?
Thanks much for your help.
Kevin
snibgo
Posts: 12159
Joined: 2010-01-24T06:01:33+00:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: England, UK

Re: How to run program

Post by snibgo »

ImageMagick is a command-line program. In Microsoft Windows, open a "Command prompt" (also known as "console") window. At the prompt, type "magick" and press return. This should show something like this:

Code: Select all

Error: Invalid argument or not enough arguments

Usage: magick tool [ {option} | {image} ... ] {output_image}
Usage: magick [ {option} | {image} ... ] {output_image}
       magick [ {option} | {image} ... ] -script {filename} [ {script_args} ...]

       magick -help | -version | -usage | -list {option}
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com
kevinpeter
Posts: 2
Joined: 2019-10-19T13:49:46+00:00
Authentication code: 1152

Re: How to run program

Post by kevinpeter »

Thanks. I have done that in the Command prompt and this is exactly what is returned. But I don't know what to do when I see that in that.

Error: Invalid argument or not enough arguments

Usage: magick tool [ {option} | {image} ... ] {output_image}
Usage: magick [ {option} | {image} ... ] {output_image}
magick [ {option} | {image} ... ] -script {filename} [ {script_args} ...]
magick -help | -version | -usage | -list {option}
snibgo
Posts: 12159
Joined: 2010-01-24T06:01:33+00:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: England, UK

Re: How to run program

Post by snibgo »

You can do many things. I show a few thousand examples on my web pages. (Most examples were written for IMv6. For v7, change "convert" to "magick".)
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com
Post Reply