Canvas size using "Montage"

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
Post Reply
Mavijo
Posts: 2
Joined: 2019-09-30T12:13:18-07:00
Authentication code: 1152

Canvas size using "Montage"

Post by Mavijo »

Hello!

I need to arrange 100 images on one sheet on a 10x10 grid with overlapping them. For this, I used the following command:

Code: Select all

magick.exe montage * .png -background none -tile 10x10 -geometry -5-5 montage_overlap.png
It turned out fine, with the exception of images cropped from the edges of the sheet due to the -geometry -5-5 command.
Image
I don’t understand how to save the image on the sides of the sheet, although I tried a bunch of options. I searched on the forum, but could not find an answer. Please help me.

Thank you!
User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 25562
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: Canvas size using "Montage"

Post by fmw42 »

Is the image you show an input or output?
Mavijo
Posts: 2
Joined: 2019-09-30T12:13:18-07:00
Authentication code: 1152

Re: Canvas size using "Montage"

Post by Mavijo »

Its an output.
Input - one egg.
Image
Maybe i should use other function to overlay instead of -montage ?
Note, that all 100 images are different, i used one egg just for example.
User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 25562
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: Canvas size using "Montage"

Post by fmw42 »

try +smush with a negative value for each row, then use -smush with a negative value to combine all the rows.
Post Reply