Page 1 of 1

-region not working

Posted: 2017-06-24T14:33:28-07:00
by Lars-Daniel

Code: Select all

wget "http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/warping/koala.gif"
convert koala.gif  -region 30x30+10+10 -resize 75% -fill red -colorize 30%  koala_region_shrink.gif
expected result: http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/maskin ... shrink.gif
result: a complete colorized image

version: "Version: ImageMagick 7.0.6-0 Q8 x64 2017-06-11"

Re: -region not working

Posted: 2017-06-24T15:01:54-07:00
by fmw42
I do not understand why you are doing a -resize 75% inside the region command. Can you explain? What are you trying to resize -- just the region or the whole image?

I do agree that one gets different result for IM 6.9.8.10 and IM 7.0.6.0. I also get an error when adding +region at the end in IM 7.

Code: Select all

magick koala.gif -region 30x30+10+10 -resize 75% -fill red -colorize 30% +region koala_region_shrink.gif
magick: invalid argument for option '+region' '(null)' at CLI arg 10 @ error/operation.c/CLISimpleOperatorImage/3109.

Re: -region not working

Posted: 2017-06-24T15:14:39-07:00
by Lars-Daniel
fmw42 wrote: 2017-06-24T15:01:54-07:00 I do not understand why you are doing a -resize 75% inside the region command. Can you explain? What are you trying to resize -- just the region or the whole image?
Because I've RTFM and it's an example in there :) http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/maskin ... _internals

Re: -region not working

Posted: 2017-06-24T15:19:10-07:00
by fmw42
Lars-Daniel wrote: 2017-06-24T15:14:39-07:00
fmw42 wrote: 2017-06-24T15:01:54-07:00 I do not understand why you are doing a -resize 75% inside the region command. Can you explain? What are you trying to resize -- just the region or the whole image?
Because I've RTFM and it's an example in there :) http://www.imagemagick.org/Usage/maskin ... _internals
OK. Thanks. I understand now from Anthony's examples. But you do not need to be irritated or vulgar about it. You could have just said where you got the example and it was not working. I just wanted to understand the question and try to verify it. I did not know which was correct.

Re: -region not working

Posted: 2017-06-24T15:25:02-07:00
by Lars-Daniel
Sorry, didn't want to sound vulgar. "RTFM" is a fixed term and never meant vulgar. It's even part of modern dictionaries: http://www.dictionary.com/browse/rtfm

Actually, I just wanted to make a joke, since everyone says: RTFM ... "RTM" sounds like "ready to manufacture", which also is a fixed term.

Re: -region not working

Posted: 2017-06-24T15:33:52-07:00
by fmw42
FYI, from Wikipedia:

RTFM is an initialism for the expression "read the f...ing manual" or, in the context of the Unix computer operating system, "read the f...ing man page". The RTFM comment is usually expressed when the speaker is irritated by another person's question or lack of knowledge.

But I accept your apology. Don't worry about it.

Re: -region not working

Posted: 2017-06-24T15:37:21-07:00
by Lars-Daniel
Let's name it: "Read the fine manual". I'm sorry and I won't use it in future.

Re: -region not working

Posted: 2017-06-24T16:26:25-07:00
by fmw42
Lars-Daniel wrote: 2017-06-24T15:37:21-07:00 Let's name it: "Read the fine manual".
Good idea! I will try to read it that way in the future.