Page 1 of 1

6.9.0-1 and default output formats

Posted: 2014-12-26T21:31:43-07:00
by snibgo
On Windows 8.1, downloaded from http://www.imagemagick.org/download/bin ... static.exe .

The default format for output filetypes seems broken. For example, the following produce binary-identical files, all in the PPM compressed format.

Code: Select all

%IMG6901%convert rose: rose.png
%IMG6901%convert rose: rose.jpg
%IMG6901%convert rose: rose.tiff
%IMG6901%convert rose: rose.gif
%IMG6901%convert rose: rose.exr
A workaround is to use a prefix, eg

Code: Select all

%IMG6901%convert rose: PNG:rose.png

Re: 6.9.0-1 and default output formats

Posted: 2014-12-26T22:20:23-07:00
by fmw42
I see the same thing on my Mac OSX Snow Leopard with IM 6.9.0.1


convert rose: rose.png
identify -verbose rose.png
Image: rose.png
Format: PPM (Portable pixmap format (color))


It seems to keep whatever is the input format rather than use the output image's suffix to change formats.

convert lena33.jpg tmp.png
identify tmp.png
tmp.png JPEG 512x512 512x512+0+0 8-bit sRGB 76.2KB 0.000u 0:00.000

Re: 6.9.0-1 and default output formats

Posted: 2014-12-27T06:53:16-07:00
by JodieC
I've had something like this happen as well, I had to change my scripts on Linux to prefix the format.
Then I got three segfaults I can't reproduce. *smh*

Re: 6.9.0-1 and default output formats

Posted: 2014-12-27T07:42:15-07:00
by magick
We can reproduce the problem you posted and have a patch in ImageMagick 6.9.0-2 Beta, available by sometime tomorrow. Thanks.

Re: 6.9.0-1 and default output formats

Posted: 2014-12-27T08:18:23-07:00
by snibgo
As this has broken a fundamental feature of IM, you might consider re-releasing 6.9.0-1 or scheduling a rapid release of 6.9.0-2.

Re: 6.9.0-1 and default output formats

Posted: 2014-12-27T09:54:18-07:00
by magick
The 6.9.0-2 release is available now.

Re: 6.9.0-1 and default output formats

Posted: 2014-12-27T17:18:22-07:00
by snibgo
Great, thanks.

Re: 6.9.0-1 and default output formats

Posted: 2014-12-28T11:26:40-07:00
by JodieC
Seems to work better from here, thanks!

Re: 6.9.0-1 and default output formats

Posted: 2014-12-31T09:58:37-07:00
by Marsu42
magick wrote:The 6.9.0-2 release is available now.
Thanks for fixing this, after trying to debug my scripts to no avail, this is a good incentive to visit the IM forum :-) ... I couldn't imagine for this basic fault, actually IM itself is to blame. Probably some regression testing suite to avoid something like this would be in order, or extending the beta testing period of new versions?

Re: 6.9.0-1 and default output formats

Posted: 2014-12-31T10:13:04-07:00
by dlemstra
We added a unit test for this mistake I made :) The patch was created right before the release.