convert output changes with recent update

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
jamtat
Authentication code: 8675308

convert output changes with recent update

Post by jamtat »

A recent ImageMagick update (to version 7.0.8-47) on my system has resulted in production of errant results from a script I've been running for a few months now. The script overlays onto an image some text that I download from the internet at regular intervals, adding a blurred shadow effect to the text and positioning it on an image. For reference, the script is as follows:

Code: Select all

convert -size 240x180 xc:none -gravity center -stroke black -strokewidth 2 -pointsize 36 -annotate 0 \
"$(cat /home/user/weather/currnt-cond.txt)" -background none -shadow 100x3+0+0 +repage -stroke none \
-fill lightblue -annotate 0 "$(cat /home/user/weather/currnt-cond.txt)" /home/user/weather/wmap-hi_res.gif \
+swap -gravity northeast -geometry +0-3 -composite /home/user/weather/wmap-hi_res-NE.gif
Whereas previous to the upgrade this would add a gently blurring greyish shadow around text placed in the appropriate position on the image, now, though the text winds up in the right place on the image being overlayed, it is surround by a very dark, blocky shadow. Plus the shadow is clearly being trimmed. I'm trying to discover what sort of corrective I might apply to restore the lighter, gently blurring shadow I was able previously to achieve.