Do i need all 50 MB of ImageMagick?

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
Post Reply
mambo4
Posts: 12
Joined: 2013-08-21T15:03:42-07:00
Authentication code: 6789

Do i need all 50 MB of ImageMagick?

Post by mambo4 »

I'm building art tools for game development
I use ImageMagick command lines to process some of the textures.

Now I'm faced with building the tool installs for the art team, and I'd prefer to keep it a lightweight as possible.
I see the install folder for IamgeMagick is around 50 MB

I find that convert.exe won't work by itself as a standalone executable (on windows)
so: what is the minimum I need to distribute to other users?
snibgo
Posts: 12159
Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: England, UK

Re: Do i need all 50 MB of ImageMagick?

Post by snibgo »

For the smallest footprint that includes all the tools (convert, identify, compare, etc), the dll version will be smaller than the static version because code that is shared between the tools won't be duplicated.
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com
User avatar
GreenKoopa
Posts: 457
Joined: 2010-11-04T17:24:08-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308

Re: Do i need all 50 MB of ImageMagick?

Post by GreenKoopa »

There is a portable version available. Is that the build you are trying to slim down?
mambo4
Posts: 12
Joined: 2013-08-21T15:03:42-07:00
Authentication code: 6789

Re: Do i need all 50 MB of ImageMagick?

Post by mambo4 »

the image magick downloads I can locate form the download page do not appear to include these portable or dll versions.
at least, a download of such is not easily identifiable by the link names.

where do I find the dll version?
where do I find the portable version?
snibgo
Posts: 12159
Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: England, UK

Re: Do i need all 50 MB of ImageMagick?

Post by snibgo »

Static, dynamic (DLL) and portable Windows installations from http://www.imagemagick.org/script/binar ... hp#windows
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com
mambo4
Posts: 12
Joined: 2013-08-21T15:03:42-07:00
Authentication code: 6789

Re: Do i need all 50 MB of ImageMagick?

Post by mambo4 »

for give my ignorance, I must be misunderstanding something.

each of the downloads appear to unzip into a folder chock full of .exe and .dll files (among other stuff)

is there meant to be a singular exe or dll which can run all of the image magick functions?
if so it must be buried within this collection of exe and dll files.
what is the exact file name of this file?
snibgo
Posts: 12159
Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: England, UK

Re: Do i need all 50 MB of ImageMagick?

Post by snibgo »

The exe files are self-extracting zip files. Run the exe, and it will create loads of files in whatever directory you want.

Put that directory into your path, if the installation hasn't done that for you.

One of the programs is "convert.exe". You should now be able to ...

Code: Select all

convert logo: logo.gif
... or do many of the other magical things.
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com
mambo4
Posts: 12
Joined: 2013-08-21T15:03:42-07:00
Authentication code: 6789

Re: Do i need all 50 MB of ImageMagick?

Post by mambo4 »

ok, I understand that *all * the junk in the imageMagick folder is in fact needed.
in that case simple passing ImageMagick-6.8.6-9-Q16-x64-dll.exe to the art team should be sufficient.
snibgo
Posts: 12159
Joined: 2010-01-23T23:01:33-07:00
Authentication code: 1151
Location: England, UK

Re: Do i need all 50 MB of ImageMagick?

Post by snibgo »

That's the easiest way. The total disk requirement is only about 80 MB, which is nothing, these days.

You can remove the sub-directories and ffmpeg.exe, if you don't want them. Some files in the main directory (eg *.txt, *.rdf, *.html) aren't needed.
snibgo's IM pages: im.snibgo.com
Post Reply