Progressive jpg

Questions and postings pertaining to the usage of ImageMagick regardless of the interface. This includes the command-line utilities, as well as the C and C++ APIs. Usage questions are like "How do I use ImageMagick to create drop shadows?".
Post Reply
dan
Posts: 3
Joined: 2013-08-19T11:32:27-07:00
Authentication code: 6789

Progressive jpg

Post by dan »

Hi,

I'd like to make sure that my jpgs are NOT interlaced (don't want progressive jpg).

Tried all kind of scripts but didn't get it right...

any advice will be appreciated!!

Thanks
dan
Posts: 3
Joined: 2013-08-19T11:32:27-07:00
Authentication code: 6789

Re: Progressive jpg

Post by dan »

I can obviously run:

convert -interlace none image.jpg new_image.jpg

But when I check the file with gimp it seems interlaced...
User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 25562
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: Progressive jpg

Post by fmw42 »

In proper IM 6 syntax you need to read the input image first, so try

convert image.jpg -interlace none new_image.jpg

If that does not work, please provide a link to your image. You can host it on any free Image Hosting web site such as dropbox, etc.

Also what version of IM and what platform.

Please see viewtopic.php?f=1&t=9620
dan
Posts: 3
Joined: 2013-08-19T11:32:27-07:00
Authentication code: 6789

Re: Progressive jpg

Post by dan »

Thanks!!

Seems like it's doing the trick. I'm checking the file with:

identify -verbose new_file.jpg

and it shows:
Interlace: None

Does it mean that the jpeg is not progressive or do I need something else?
User avatar
GreenKoopa
Posts: 457
Joined: 2010-11-04T17:24:08-07:00
Authentication code: 8675308

Re: Progressive jpg

Post by GreenKoopa »

ImageMagick is great at image processing. It has many options when writing JPEGs. If your command is the last step of a longer process, fmw42's advice is perfect. But if you are only modifying jpeg attributes such as the coding, a jpeg specific tool, such as jpegtran, will work faster and with zero loss of image quality.
User avatar
fmw42
Posts: 25562
Joined: 2007-07-02T17:14:51-07:00
Authentication code: 1152
Location: Sunnyvale, California, USA

Re: Progressive jpg

Post by fmw42 »

Does it mean that the jpeg is not progressive or do I need something else?
If the verbose info say interlace none, then the resulting jpg is not progressive

see
http://www.imagemagick.org/script/comma ... #interlace

"Use Line or Plane to create an interlaced PNG or GIF or progressive JPEG image.
Post Reply